Applying for Licensure as a Veterinarian
Any veterinarian desiring a license to practice veterinary medicine in Arkansas may make written application to the Board, certifying that they are at least twenty-one (21) years of age and a person of moral integrity and acceptable ethical standards. The application shall contain other information and proof as required under §17-101-301 of the Practice Act and shall be accompanied by an application fee established by the Board. At this time, the application fee is one hundred dollars ($100.00) and is nonrefundable once submitted to the Board.
If the Board finds that the applicant possesses the proper qualifications, it shall admit him or her to the next examination. If an applicant is found unqualified to take the examination, the Board shall immediately notify the applicant, in writing, of its findings and grounds for the same.
Written State Board Examination:
All applicants, unless approved by the Board for Licensure by Endorsement, are required to complete a written exam conducted by the Board. Applicants must appear in person to take the exam, which is given once per year (typically in June), and takes place in Little Rock, Arkansas. All information required on the application checklist must be received in the Board office at least thirty (30) days prior to the exam.
A Temporary Permit may be issued upon proper request to a qualified applicant pending examination. If a Temporary Permit is desired, check “YES” on the application and submit the additional fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). All information required on the application checklist must be received before the Temporary Permit can be issued.
Licensure by Endorsement:
The Board, at its discretion, may issue a License by Endorsement to a qualified applicant who furnishes evidence that he or she is a veterinarian who has: (1) For the five years prior to filing the application, been a practicing veterinarian and licensed in a state, territory or district of the United States having license requirements at the time the applicant was first licensed which are substantially equivalent to the requirements of this Chapter; or (2) Qualified as a diplomat of a specialty board approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association; or (3) Been awarded a post graduate degree in veterinary medicine; or (4) Been recognized as an expert in the veterinary profession.
If you wish to apply for Licensure by Endorsement, please submit a letter to the Board with your application outlining which of the above qualifications you meet, and the reason why you are petitioning the Board to sit out of the Written State Board Examination. Your request will be reviewed at the next scheduled Board Meeting after all information has been received. It is at the Board’s discretion whether or not to grant you your request.
Applying for Certification as a Veterinary Technician
An applicant for a certificate of qualification as a veterinary technician in Arkansas may make written application to the Board, showing that they are a person of moral integrity and acceptable ethical standards. The application shall contain other information and proof as required under §17-101-306 of the Practice Act and shall be accompanied by an application fee established by the Board. At this time, the application fee is forty dollars ($40.00) and is nonrefundable once submitted to the Board.
The applicant must be a graduate of a college-level veterinary technology program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association.
All applicants are required to take the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) that is administered by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Each applicant will be responsible for having their VTNE score transferred to Arkansas through the AAVSB. There is no Written State Board Examination in Arkansas for veterinary technicians.
Applying for a Certificate of Corporate Practice
If you are an Arkansas licensed veterinarian, and have incorporated your practice, you will need to register your corporation with the Board by submitting a Corporate Practice Application. Please be advised that under §17-101-203(9) of the Practice Act, the Board shall have the power to regulate all veterinarians in a corporate practice and prevent corporate or non-corporate holdings from being sold to, directed by, or controlled by a non-veterinarian. The Board has also adopted additional Rules & Regulations regarding corporations which can be found under the Legislation tab of this website.
Applying for Certification as a Non-Veterinarian Embryo Transfer Technician
The application shall contain the information required under §17-101-316 of the Practice Act, which can be found under the “Legislation” tab of the website and shall be accompanied by an application fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00). A short list of the requirements can be found on the application checklist.
One item of required information is a record of completing a qualified course on livestock embryo transfer or transplant and livestock pregnancy determination. If you hold a Doctorate or Master of Science degree with an emphasis in animal reproductive physiology, that will constitute a qualified course. If you do not hold one of those degrees, you can take a course on livestock embryo transfer or transplant and livestock pregnancy determination taught by someone with a Doctorate or Master of Science degree with an emphasis in animal reproductive physiology, a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine or through an accredited or approved college of veterinary medicine. Attached below is a list of course providers for livestock embryo transfer or transplant and livestock pregnancy determination that have been approved by the Board. If you are considering attending a course taught by a provider that is not on the list, please contact the Board office, as it may still qualify but need to be approved in advance of your attendance. Please keep in mind that the providers listed are for informational purposes only and in no way constitute an endorsement by the Board.